The Digestive Endoscopy Society of Taiwan (DEST)

The Digestive Endoscopy Society of Taiwan (DEST) represents national society of digestive endoscopists, which was established in Taipei on 15th Feb, 1992 by Professor Teh-Hong Wang and Professor Juei-Low Sung. The current president is Professor Cheng-Tang Chiu.

DEST comprises endoscopists from gastroenterologists, pediatric gastroenterologists, general surgeons and colorectal surgeons. Over the past decades, DEST has grown in member numbers from initially 500 members to now 1,800 endoscopist members, and nearly 1,300 technician members.

The aims of DEST are to promote digestive endoscopy researches, publish academic journal, and hold varieties of conferences, live demonstrations, and hands-on animal workshops periodically. DEST is also an active member of international societies of digestive endoscopy including A-PSDE and WEO. DEST has also cooperated with various world-leading experts in digestive endoscopy for the improvement of endoscopy knowledge and technology.

  • 1992

    The Society was established with 463 original members. Prof. Juei-Low Sung was invited as an honourable president. The first president was Prof. Teh-Hong Wang.

  • 1992

    The 1st Annual Meeting was held in Taipei.

  • 1992

    The 1st issue of transaction of our society was published.

  • 1993

    The 1st CME Symposium of Digestive Endoscopy was held in Taipei.

  • 2003

    Double balloon enteroscopy and capsule endoscopy were introduced into Taiwan.

  • 2006

    Endoscopic submucosal dissection (ESD) was introduced into Taiwan.

  • 2012

    Per-Oral Endoscopic Myotomy (POEM) was introduced into Taiwan.

  • 2015

    The 1st Annual Congress of DEST (DEST 2015) combined with a Sexagnita Journey of Endoscopy in Taiwanheld at the NTUH International Conventional Center, Taipei, Taiwan